The Woods Awards. Excellence in British architecture and product design

Published on April 21, 2016

Frame House, West London by Jonathan Tuckey Design using Douglas Fir and Birch.

The Wood Awards is the UK’s premier competition for excellence in architecture and product design in the world’s only naturally sustainable material. The Awards aim to recognise, encourage and promote outstanding design, craftsmanship and installation using wood.

ME-bookshelf-2 7_Ravenswood-1-2109 (1)
Oak Furniture for the Dickson Poon Centre (Bespoke Furniture Winner 2014) and Ravenswood (Small Project Highly Commended 2014).

The competition began in 1971 as the Carpenters’ Award and was relaunched in 2003 as the Wood Awards. The Awards have had an impact on the architectural and design landscape, becoming a ‘mark of excellence’ in wood with past Arnold Laver Gold Award Winners including David Morley Architects for The Hurlingham Club Outdoor Pool, Adam Richards Architects for Ditchling Museum of Art + Craft and, most recently, Niall McLaughlin Architects for The Fishing Hut.

The Storyboard (Production Made Furniture Highly Commended 2013)

The Awards’ elite independent judging panel of professional experts and specialists not only judges the submitted entries but visits the shortlisted projects in person, making the Wood Awards as meaningful and rigorous a competition as possible.

As a not-for-profit competition, the Wood Awards can only happen with collaborative industry sponsorship. More sponsor information.

The Colyer-Fergusson Building (Commercial & Public Access Winner 2013)

Even if a project is not shortlisted there are benefits to entering the Wood Awards as all entries receive social media and PR exposure. The Wood Awards shortlist will be announced in July and everyone involved in a shortlisted project will be invited to attend the Wood Awards ceremony in London on 22 November 2016. The shortlisted projects will be on display at the ceremony as well as at an exhibition during the London Design Festival. All Wood Award winners receive trophies and certificates and are featured in the December issue of the RIBA Journal.

Excellence in British Architecture and Product Design has now launched its 2016 call for entries. Architects and designers from around the United Kingdom are invited to enter their wood-based projects and have until 27 May to submit their entries.

The Studio (Existing Building Winner 2015)

With permission from the owner, anyone associated with a building or product completed in the last two years, can enter. Buildings must be located within the UK whilst furniture and other products must have been either designed or manufactured in the UK. There are no restrictions on the size, budget or function of entries. The competition is free to enter and entrants may submit more than one project. The project must not have been previously entered into the Wood Awards before. Enter and submit your project!


The Wood Awards - Logo


Cookies help us offering our services. When you use them, you agree that we use Cookies. (More Info)

Aviso de cookies